Do you believe in lucky numbers and good luck charms? I do.

I’ve had 2 (super common) lucky numbers for the last 16 years, number 7 and number 11. My brother’s birthday was July 11th, and after he passed away in 2002, I took his lucky numbers and made them my own. They have served me well on countless occasions over the years, and what’s better, each new memory that involves 7 or 11, cements my brother’s presence in my life without him physically beside me.

In addition to holding those lucky numbers close, I also believe wholeheartedly in good luck charms…have a few of those too. My favorite is an old ring of my brothers with his initials GWP on it…I’ve worn it for every 1/2 Marathon I’ve run, I wore it for my first full marathon too, wore it when my littlest son had ear-tube surgery, and when I got married. It’s served me well every time.

This past weekend was my 11th half marathon and while preparing for the day, I made sure my lucky ring was (as always) a part of my “racing kit.” I also made sure to remind myself, that just by showing up to toe the line this morning, I was lucky.

As runners we truly are a very lucky bunch. Not everyone can run, not everyone can reap the benefits we have all been privileged enough to by being a part of this running community. Lucky are we who are able to tie those shoes on each day, and lucky are we who always remember that running is a gift, not a given.

Should you find yourself beginning to wonder if you’ve got what it takes to tackle a tough race…look for your lucky. Let that lucky number or token you hold dear, be the connection to your inner strength. Focus your energy on the little bit of luck rather than the worry, and ride through the stormy weather stronger.

PS – This weekend at The Popular Brooklyn Half, my 11th, wearing my brother’s ring…          I earned a 3 second personal record. 🍀 xo

IMG_6559_Facetune_19-05-2018-11-28-00

Leave a comment